2014 The Run To The Rose Final Field and Barrier Draw

August 27th, 2014

A talented field of 12 three-year-olds have been confirmed to line up for this weekend’s featured Group 3 The Run To The Rose (1200m) at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse, highlighted by several exciting prospects for the 2014 Spring Racing Carnival.

Almalad has been confirmed in the final field for the 2014 The Run To The Rose

Almalad has been confirmed in the final field for the 2014 The Run To The Rose. Photo: Steve Hart

The only previous champion at the highest level of Australian racing nominated for the 2014 The Run To The Rose, trainer Gai Waterhouse has confirmed Almalad in this final field.

Yet to taste anything but success over three race starts so far, Almalad overcame poor running position to win the Nuturf Plate Maiden (1000m) on debut in December, and more than stamped his claims as one to watch when overcoming a talented field to win the TAB Early Quaddie Plate (1200m) by close to four lengths first-up on May 24th.

Warranting a position in the final field of the Group 1 J.J. Atkins (1600m) at Brisbane’s Eagle Farm Racecourse on June 7th, the Al Maher gelding did not disappointing in displaying a keen turn of foot to finish half a length in the clear of fellow Run To The Rose acceptor Brazen Beau.

Allocated the central barrier 5, Waterhouse is confident in-form hoop Tommy Berry will once again get the best from Almalad this weekend.

Likely to receive the run of the race from the ideal barrier 3, trainer Chris Waller has confirmed Brazen Beau in the final field for the 2014 The Run To The Rose.

Performing well over two starts through the 2014 Autumn Carnival, Brazen Beau more than came into his own upon arriving in Brisbane for the Winter Racing Carnival; winning the Group 2 Champagne Classic (1200m) before finishing second in both the Group 2 BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes (1350m) and J.J. Atkins.

Confirmed to be partnered by jockey Hugh Bowman, Waller is confident of a polished first-up performance from the I Am Invincible colt this weekend.

Waller is set to launch a three-pronged attack on the 2014 Run To The Rose, having also accepted positions in the final field for talented pair Law and Sniper Fire.

Beginning his career under the guidance of Waterhouse, Law won the Listed NSW Thoroughbred Breeders’ Plate (1000m) on debut in October, returning to racing this year for a strong victory in the Adaptra Handicap (1000m) before finishing fourth in the Group 2 Silver Slipper Stakes (1100m) on March 1st.

While failing to beat a single runner home in the Group 1 Golden Slipper (1200m) on April 5th, the Denman colt has seemingly returning to the track in good order this time in; finishing third in the Group 3 San Domenico Stakes (1100m) first-up on August 16th.

Without doubt the unknown quantity of Waller’s attack on The Run To The Rose, Sniper Fire it yet to finish outside the places over four starts, winning his last two.

Allocated the reasonably wide and awkward barrier 9, the High Chaparral gelding faces a huge task this weekend in what will be his maiden appearance in black type company.

Leading online bookie Ladbrokes.com.au is currently offering the best odds on the 2014 The Run To The Rose!

Open an account and deposit at Ladbrokes.com.au today to claim a bonus bet of up to $250 in time for this weekend’s strong Rosehill card!

2014 The Run To The Rose Final Field and Barrier Draw

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 1x11x ALMALAD Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry 5 60kg 90
2 15x122x BRAZEN BEAU Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 3 59kg 86
3 4x3518x GHIBELLINES John O’Shea Kerrin McEvoy 8 59kg 84
4 147×1 NOSTRADAMUS Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Brenton Avdulla 2 58kg 84
5 11x HALLOWED CROWN Bart & James Cummings Joshua Parr 7 58kg 82
6 1x140x3 LAW Chris Waller Jason Collett 1 57kg 80
7 25x716224x SCRATCH ME LUCKY Paul Perry Timothy Bell 6 56kg 82
8 13x263x KUMAON John O’Shea Sam Clipperton 4 56kg 81
9 1126349x MODOC Paul Perry Jeff Lloyd 11 56kg 74
10 2311x SNIPER FIRE Chris Waller Tye Angland 9 56kg 73
11 1×4 SARAJEVO John O’Shea James McDonald 12 56kg 67
12 1222×6 YGRITTE Gerald Ryan Tim Clark 10 54kg 76